The ISHR Richard J. Bing Award for Young Investigators

The ISHR Richard J. Bing Award for Young Investigators

The International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) is seeking applications for a distinguished award of international importance for recognizing outstanding young scientists: The Richard J Bing Young Investigator Award. The monetary prize is $1,500 for the winner of the Richard J Bing Award and $1,000 for 3 runner-up Finalists. This high-profile recognition will be presented at the XXIIIth ISHR World Congress in Beijing, China, June 3-6, 2019. The Winner and Finalists will be announced in the Journal of Molecular and Cellular Cardiology (the official publication of the ISHR), on the ISHR website, and in Heart News and Views (the newsletter of the ISHR).

Full details of this award, including a list of previous recipients and relevant guidelines can be found here.

The guidelines should be consulted before preparing any application.

  • The purpose of this Award is to recognize outstanding research endeavors by new investigators and to encourage continued cardiovascular research careers
  • Candidates must be active members (or have applied for membership) of the ISHR at the time of application
  • Candidates must have received their PhD or equivalent less than 8 years prior to the opening day of the World Congress. Allowance will be made for career breaks. It is the responsibility of the candidate and supervisor to justify the degree of disruption to the career
  • Four finalists will present their work at the XXIIIth ISHR World Congress
  • The deadline for receipt of applications is February 1, 2019

As detailed in the relevant guidelines on the ISHR website, all nomination materials should be provided in electronic format, as a SINGLE PDF file either via email or on a flash drive. If you do not get a confirming e-mail within one week, please send a follow-up inquiry without the attached files.

Applications/Nominations should be submitted (by email, mail/airmail or courier) to BOTH:

Dr Åsa Gustafsson
Chair – Bing Award Selection Committee
Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of California San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive #0758
La Jolla, CA 92093-0758
Tel: (858)822-5569
Email: [email protected]


Dr Leslie Anderson Lobaugh
ISHR Executive Secretary
PO Box 52643
Durham, NC 27717-2643
Tel: (919)493-4418
Email: [email protected]

About the author

admin administrator